The Bounty Hunter vs. One for the Money

So as I mentioned during my romantic comedy top ten Tuesday, i am a big fan of the genre, on my PVR right now I have two very similar movies Bounty Hunter (2010) & One for the money (2012) so I decided I’d do my first which is better wednesday on those two since I just watched them back to back while having a lazy couch day.

One for the Money (2012)

synopsis: Unemployed and newly-divorced Stephanie Plum lands a job at her cousin’s bail-bond business, where her first assignment puts her on the trail of a wanted local cop from her romantic past.

Bounty Hunter (2010)

A bounty hunter learns that his next target is his ex-wife, a reporter working on a murder cover-up. Soon after their reunion, the always-at-odds duo find themselves on a run-for-their-lives adventure.

Similarities

Both films involve a bounty hunter who is on the hunt for an ex, drug related crimes (not committed by the person who skipped bail), an ex cop, and of course both couples realize they still care for each other. 

Differences

Male bounty hunter tracking down his ex wife in Bounty Hunter vs. female bounty hunter tracking down the guy she lost her virginity to in One for the money.
Former cop is the bounty hunter in Bounty Hunter vs. Former cop is the bail jumper in One for the money
Comedic Relief character is male in Bounty Hunter vs. Female in One for the money

Who did it better?

casting.

Female Lead: 

vs

I love both of these actresses and pretty much everything they have been in so this is a hard decision however based SOLELY on their acting in the respective movies the winner in my opinion is Katherine Heigl.

Male Lead:

vs

This one was a bit easier, don’t get me wrong Jason O’Mara was good but Gerard Butler is Gerard Butler and that alone gives him a win.

Villain

v illains

Peter Greene did a great job at playing the dirty cop in the bounty hunter but I’m gonna have to give this one to John Leguizamo since his role was more complex.

Bondsman

PicMonkey Collage

As much as I love love love Patrick Fischler this one will have to go to Jeff Garlin if only based on their characters or their acting in these specific films.

Helper/Informant

PicMonkey Collage

Once again two actors I really like Adam Rose is awesome in anything I’ve seen him in but Sherri Sheppard is sooo funny so i’m gonna have to give her this one.

Who had better casting? Out of these five casting categories I’d have to say that I think One for the Money had a better cast.

comedic Aspects.

Both movies are funny (therefore their classification as a romantic COMEDY) however in terms of laugh value I thought the bounty hunter was more funny.

Case

Both side cases were very good. In the bounty hunter Jennifer’s character Nicole is a reporter working on a story about a suicide which just doesn’t make any sense. Her digging not only leads her to believe that the fake suicide is linked to missing items from the police department’s evidence depository. In one for the money O’Mara’s character Joe was working a drug case with a local prostitute as his informant who calls him for help, when he attempts to go to her aid he is ambushed and kills a man in self defense who’s murder he gets charged with.  Overall I preferred the case from the bounty hunter as it had more depth.

Romantic Aspects

Of course the otherside to romantic comedies is the romance. In One for the money Stephanie is reunited with her “first” while in bounty hunter a marriage is mended, bounty hunter takes it again.

Who did it better: Although I preferred the cast of One for the Money every other aspect of the Bounty Hunter has it beat, although I did enjoy both movies and do regularly rewatch both. 

Winner– The Bounty Hunter

Leave a Reply

