Top 10 Buffy Characters

It’s time for another top ten Tuesday, this week the focus will be on one of my favourite TV shows, BTVS. (for more Buffy posts click the tag link at the bottom of the page) and my favourite characters in the show.

10.Anya Jenkins–

screenshot-buffy.wikia.com 2015-01-06 22-35-44

Played by: Emma Craford

# of Episodes: 81

First Appearance– “The Wish” 3×9

Last Appearance– “Chosen” 7×22

Favourite Quote/Monologue: The Body (5×16) I don’t understand how this all happens. How we go through this. I mean, I knew her, and then she’s- There’s just a body, and I don’t understand why she just can’t get back in it and not be dead anymore. It’s stupid. It’s mortal and stupid. And-and Xander’s crying and not talking, and-and I was having fruit punch, and I thought, well, Joyce will never have any more fruit punch ever, and she’ll never have eggs, or yawn or brush her hair, not ever, and no one will explain to me why.

Fun Anya Facts: 1) She’s afraid of Bunnies 2) She is over a thousand years old 3) She spend YEARS as a vengeance demon enacting vengence on men who have wronged women 4) She went to Sunnydale to enact vengeance on Xander who she later fell in love with 5)She had an unhealthy obsession with money.

9.Cordelia Chase–

screenshot-buffy.wikia.com 2015-01-06 22-48-47

played by Charisma Carpenter

# of Episodes (Including her time on Angel):122

First Appearance “Welcome to the hellmouth” 1×1

Last Appearance: “Your Welcome” ANGEL 5×12

Favourite Quotes/Monologue: ANGEL “I Will Remember You” (1×8)I’m good for exactly two things: International Superstardom, or helping a vampire with a soul to rid the world of evil. That makes for a short but colorful resume” 

Fun Cordy Facts: 1) Was a main character in both BTVS & Angel 2) She gains Visions in Angel after the death of Doyle 3)She has a similar personality in the early seasons of BTVS as Buffy’s character did in the movie 4)Charisma Carpenter originally auditioned for the role of Buffy 5)She gave up her popularity in order to be with Xander.

8.Daniel Osborn (Oz)–

Played by: Seth Green

screenshot-buffy.wikia.com 2015-01-06 23-12-18

# of Episodes:40

First Appearance; “Inca Mummy Girl” 2×4

Last Appearance: “Restless” 4×22

Favourite Quote/MonologueSo I’m wonderin’, do the other cookie animals feel sorta ripped? Like is the hippo goin’, “Hey man, where are my pants? I have my hippo dignity.” And, you know, the monkey’s just, “I mock you with my monkey pants!” And then there’s a big coup in the zoo.

Fun Oz Facts: 1) Turned into a warewolf when his little cousin bit him 2)He was not surprised to learn about vampires stating it “explained a lot” 3)Oz was supposed to be the character killed by Angelus in season 2 but because of his fan-base they changed it to Jenny Carpenter 4)There were three episodes that focused on Oz and are referred to by Marti Noxon refers to as the “Oz/Willow Trilogy” 5) Seth Green left the show abruptly in order to pursue a career in movies.

7.Faith Lehane–

screenshot-buffy.wikia.com 2015-01-06 23-27-28

Played by Eliza Dushku (SMG in One Episode)

First Appearance: Faith, Hope & Trick 3×3

Last Appearance: Chosen 7×22

Favourite Quote/Monologue: ANGEL”Sanctuary” (1×19)“I gotta be the first Slayer in history to be sponsored by a vampire”

Fun Faith Facts: 1) Became the Slayer because of Kendall’s death, Kendall became the slayer when Buffy briefly died in season 1, when Buffy died the second time there was no new slayer because Faith was still alive, 2) A lot of Faith’s issues were rooted in jealousy of Buffy as well as the feeling that she didn’t fit in, once suggesting that the reason they could never get along was because they weren’t supposed to exist together 3)Was broke out of prison in order to help Angel Investigations with Angelus when Angel lost his soul in ANGEL because Wesley knew she wouldn’t give up on Angel 4)She went to prison after turning herself in after Angel helped her rehabilitate herself in ANGEL 5)Her relationship with the mayor (as unhealthy as it may have been ) was the closest thing she had to a father-daughter relationship.

6.Ange/Angelus–

screenshot-buffy.wikia.com 2015-01-06 23-43-21

Played by David Boreanaz

# of Episodes (Including those on Angel): 155

First Appearance: “Welcome to the hell mouth” 1×1

Last Apperance: “Not Fade Away” ANGEL 5×22

Favourite Quotes/Monologue: “Chosen” (7×22)I’m getting the brush-off for Captain Peroxide. It doesn’t necessarily bring out the champion in me. & “Passion” (2×17)  Passion. It lies in all of us. Sleeping…waiting…and though unwanted…unbidden…it will stir…open its jaws, and howl. It speaks to us…guides us. Passion rules us all. And we obey. What other choice do we have? Passion is the source of our finest moments. the joy of love…the clarity of hatred…and the ecstasy of grief. It hurts sometimes more than we can bear. If we could live without passion, maybe we’d know some kind of peace. But we would be hollow. Empty rooms, shuttered and dank. Without passion, we’d truly be dead.

Fun Angel Facts: 1) Angelus sees killing as an art form and won’t start a fight he doesn’t think he can win 2)Through out his solo series Angel was both with and without his soul, a father, a human & a puppet 3)Angel was the only one able to rehabilitate Faith 4)He fathered a child which is a rarity for vampires 5)He is one of only 5 characters to appear in both premiere and finale of BTVS.

5.Rupert Giles–

screenshot-buffy.wikia.com 2015-01-07 01-39-19

Played by Anthony Stewart Head

# of episodes: 123

First appearance: Welcome to the hellmouth 1×1

Last appearance: Chosen 7×22

Favourite quote/monologue: Enemies (3×17)“Demons after money? Whatever happened to the still beating heart of a virgin. No one has any standards any more”

Fun Giles Facts: 1) Was a father figure to Buffy throughout the series 2)The accent used in “Band Candy” is Anthony Head’s real accent 3)There were talks of a Gile’s spinoff called “Ripper” 4)Giles’ relationship with Ethan Rayne was similar to that of Spike & Angel 5)During season 1-5 he was shown in the credits as : AND Anthony Stewart Head as Giles.

4.Willow Rosenberg–

screenshot-buffy.wikia.com 2015-01-07 01-50-16

Played by Alyson Hannigan

# of Episodes: 147

First Appearance: Welcome to the Hellmouth 1×1

Last Appearance: Chosen 7×22

Favourite Quote/Monologue:Flooded 6×04 “The magics I used are very powerful. I’m very powerful. And maybe it’s not such a good idea for you to piss me off.

Fun Willow Facts: 1) She is one of two characters to appear in all 144 episodes of Buffy (the other three were ANGEL episodes) 2) She would always turn off Moulin Rouge at chapter 32 so it would have a happy ending 3)It is assumed that the character of Willow was the inspiration behind Chloe on Smallville & Charly on Supernatural. 4)When the three female characters (Buffy, Willow & Cordelia) were all cast Joss had them over and since they were all brunettes Alyson volunteered to be the red head 5)She is arguably the most powerful person on the show.

3.Xander Harris–

screenshot-buffy.wikia.com 2015-01-07 02-05-35

Played by Nicholas Brendon

# of episodes: 143

First appearance: Welcome to the hellmouth 1×1

Last appearance: Chosen 7×22

Favourite quote/Monologue:Grave (6×22): “The first day of kindergarten, you cried because you broke the yellow crayon and you were too afraid to tell anyone. You’ve come pretty far. Ending the world – not a terrific notion… But the thing is… yeah, I love you. I love crayon-breaky Willow and I love scary, veiny Willow. So if I’m goin’ out, it’s here. If you wanna kill the world, well, then start with me. I’ve earned that.” & Potential (7×12) “Seven years, Dawn. Working with the Slayer. Seeing my friends get more and more powerful. A witch. A demon. Hell, I could fit Oz in my shaving kit, but, come a full moon, he had a wolfy mojo not to be messed with. Powerful. All of them. And I’m the guy who fixes the windows.[…]They’ll never know how tough it is, Dawnie. To be the one who isn’t chosen. To live so near to the spotlight and never step in it. But I know. I see more than anybody realises because nobody’s watching me. I saw you last night. I see you working here today. You’re not special. You’re extraordinary.

Fun Xander Facts: 1) He was the only member of the scoobies to not have any kind of supernatural gift 2)He had a life long phobia of clowns 3)He helped bring buffy back from the dead…twice… and even once joked about in a conversation with Buffy at the end of season 7 when he suggested Buffy would die saying “i’ll just bring you back, it’s what I do” 4)The only episode he wasn’t in was “Conversations with dead people (7×7) 5) He had a habit of attracting demons/monsters.

2. Spike–

screenshot-www.google.ca 2015-01-05 16-49-52

Played by James Marsters

# of episodes: 120

First Appearance: “School Hard” 2×3

Last Appearance: “Not Fade Away” ANGEL 5×22

Favourite quote/Monologue: Lover’s Walk (3×8) : You’re not friends, you’ll never be friends, you’ll be in love til it kills you both. You’ll fight & you’ll shag, but you’ll never be friends. You’ll be in love til it kills you both. Love isn’t brains children, it’s blood, blood screaming inside you to work it’s will. I may be love’s bitch. But at least I’m man enough to admit it.” & Touched (7×20) I’ve been alive a bit longer than you, and dead a lot longer than that. I’ve seen things you couldn’t imagine, and done things I’d prefer you didn’t. I don’t exactly have a reputation for being a thinker; I follow my blood, which doesn’t exactly rush in the direction of my brain. So I make a lot of mistakes. A lot of wrong bloody calls. A hundred plus years, and there’s only one thing I’ve ever been sure of. You. Hey, look at me. I’m not asking you for anything. When I say I love you, it’s not because I want you, or because I can’t have you – it has nothing to do with me. I love what you are, what you do, how you try… I’ve seen your kindness, and your strength, I’ve seen the best and the worst of you and I understand with perfect clarity exactly what you are. You’re a hell of a woman. You’re the one, Buffy. & Of Course; No place like home (5×5): Out. For. A. Walk…Bitch.

Fun Spike Facts: 1) Spike was originally supposed to die in 2×10 (what’s my line pt 2) but because of his popularity he was temporarily put in a wheelchair instead. 2) After his guest appearance in season 3 Joss decided to keep him on as a regular member because of Marster’s chemistry with the rest of the cast 3) He is one of three main cast members in both BTVS & ANGEL 4) He is one of two characters (angel being the other) to appear in the season finale of both shows 5)He is the only regular character in both shows that has met all the others on screen at least once.

1. Buffy Summers– Okay, so you knew she’d be #1, you had to know. I love Buffy, she is an amazing character and SMG portrayed her perfectly. for more Buffy related monologues see my 30 favourite tv monologues post.

Played by: Sarah Michelle Gellar ( & Eliza Dushku in one episode)

Essence of buffy statue $125 on diamond select toys
Essence of buffy statue $125 on diamond select toys

# of episodes: 147

First appearance: Welcome to the hell mouth 1×1

Last appearance: Chosen 7×22

Favourite quote/monologue:Phophecy Girl (1×12) “I don’t care. I don’t care. Giles, I’m sixteen years old. I don’t wanna die. & The Gift (5×22): Dawn, listen to me, listen. I love you. I will always love you. But this is the work that I have to do. Tell Giles…tell Giles I figured it out. And, and I’m okay. And give my love to my friends. You have to take care of them now. You have to take care of each other.You have to be strong. Dawn, the hardest thing in this world — is to live in it. Be brave. Live…for me & Chosen (7×22) So here’s the part where you make a choice: What if you could have that power…now? In every generation, one slayer is born…because a bunch of men who died thousands of years ago made up that rule. They were powerful men. This woman is more powerful than all of them combined. So I say we change the rule. I say my power…should be our power. Tomorrow, Willow will use the essence of the scythe to change our destiny. From now on, every girl in the world who might be a slayer…will be a slayer. Every girl who could have the power…will have the power…can stand up, will stand up. …every one of us. Make your choice. Are you ready to be strong? & Selfless (7×7) : I killed Angel!! Do you even remember that?! I would have given up everything I had to be with… I loved him more than I will ever love anything in this life! And I put a sword through his heart because I had to. & Becoming pt 2 (2×22) “Do you think I chose to be like this? Do you have any idea how lonely it is? How dangerous? I would love to be upstairs watching TV or gossiping about boys or… God, even studying! But I have to save the world. Again.”

Funny Buffy Facts: 1) Buffy’s character is largely based on Kitty Pryde from X-men, 2)She finds puppets creepy 3)Unlike other slayers Buffy is very unique, she maintained a social life, a close circle of friends, died twice and came back both times, lived the longest (if you ignore the two deaths) and is the only one to have slept with and fallen in love with vampires 4)Buffy has been cited like a reference for many other female characters such as Veronica Mars, Emma Swan (Once upon a time), Sookie (True Blood) & more. 5) Angel & Willow are the only characters to appear in more episodes than her between the two shows. 

Honourable Mentions:

1.Drusilla

2.Caleb

3.Glory

4.Harmony Kendall

5.Andrew Wells

You can also read some cool buffy facts by clicking HERE.

Hope you enjoyed. Who is your favourite Buffy character?

One thought on “Top 10 Buffy Characters”

Leave a Reply

