Suicide Squad News

In Comicbook news this week the casting has been announced for the Suicide Squad which is set to release in August 2016. Here I will discuss this casting as well as give readers a background on who the suicide squad is.

What is the Suicide Squad?

There has been much announced in the world of comic book movies over the last few months, a race between Marvel & DC going until at least 2020. Some of DC’s upcoming films are surrounding major pop culturally significant characters such as Wonder Woman , Flash, Batman, Superman etc. But the actors that are playing in these films (Ben Affleck being the exception) aren’t very well known. Will Smith, Jared Leto,  & Tom Hardy on the other hand are quite famous and are staring in the upcoming Suicide Squad movie, a movie based of a not well known comic book series  set to be released August 2016. If you are not a comicbook fan you may be asking yourself, “What is the Suicide Squad” well here’s a quick breakdown.

The suicide squad is the name of an elite government team that take on life-staking missions in the DC Universe. The first incarnation of the Suicide Squad appeared in a comic called “The Brave & Bold” in 1959. The team that we will be seeing on the big screen was an adaptation which first appeared in Legends No.3

screenshot-www.vox.com 2014-12-03 19-59-16The team is led by a woman named Amanda Waller (who has not been cast yet), who recruits super-villains to carry out the above mentioned missions so that if things went wrong the government could deny any involvement. The villains would get reduced sentences in exchange for accomplishing/participating in the missions.

So who are the members of the suicide squad?

The members of the suicide squad have changed over the years but have included such villains as:

Click here to learn more about the suicide squad

Who’s playing who?

Jared Leto as the Joker

The Joker is probably the most well known character in the movie. Best known as the nemesis of Batman. Previously the Joker has been played by Jack Nicholson in Batman (1989) & by Heath Ledger in The Dark Knight (2008). In the comics the Joker is not a part of the Suicide Squad and how he will be involved in the film is still a mystery.The Joker first appeared in 1940 in Batman #1. He is portrayed as a psychotic criminal mastermind with a warped and sadistic sense of humour. His origin story varies over different publications and he is seen my many (including myself) to be one of the greatest comic book villains in history. 

For the Suicide Squad Jared Leto has been cast to play the Joker. Jared Leto is an actor I actually don’t know much about  although my mother-in-law loves his acting, He won an oscars last year for Dallas Buyer’s club. I guess I’ll have to see how it turns out.

Tom Hardy as Rick Flag Jr (Flagg)

Richard Flag Jr. (Rick Flag Jr/Flagg) is an elite soldier & government agent. He was the leader of the original suicide squad and was recruited by Amanda Waller when she started the second suicide squad using incarcerated villains.  He is the squad’s field commander & accompanies them on all field missions. He is the only one who is not an incarcerated villain. 

Tom Hardy is back to the DC Universe, WB has confirmed his role as Rick Flag in the Suicide Squad movie. Now this is a casting decision I have more opinion on than the Jared Leto/Joker decision. Unlike Jared Leto I have actually watch quite a bit of Hardy’s films, I wouldn’t say I’m a big fan but I do really like his work. I loved him in This Means War and his portrayal of Bane was also incredible. I am so excited that he got casted for Flagg. I think he will do an amazing job. Flagg is basically a man in crazy good shape with anger issues so I think Hardy will do awesome at playing that character since he practically is that character. 

Will Smith as Deadshot

Deadshot is “world’s greatest marksman” (wow, way too many comic book characters fall into this category). He is basically a missionary, will kill anyone for a price. He has been both a villain & an anti-hero, and a member of not only the suicide squad but also checkmate, killer elite and the secret six.

So here is where I feel biased. I am a MASSIVE Will Smith fan. I am VERY excited about this casting announcement because it has been YEARS since Will Smith has done played a new & enjoyable part. I have loved this man since I was a child so I will always give him the benefit of the doubt until I see something that makes me question it. 

Jai Courtney as Captain Boomerang

For those of you who have been watching flash & arrow recently you have seen a bit of Captain Boomerang. The character in general is kinda a joke. He first appeared in Flash #117 (1960) and is one of the villains in the Rogues gallery  (team of flash enemies) as well as a member of secret society of super villains & the injustice gang. He uses a variety of high-tech boomerangs to comic crimes & fight the flash.

so I actually had to IMDB Jai Courtney to know who he was but as soon as I saw his filmography I was able to place him. He has been in both good day to die hard and Jack Reacher & I liked his acting in both.I’m not sure how he’ll do but I have faith. He’s kinda in the same category for me as Jared Leto,  I don’t feel like I have enough of an opinion about him to have a full opinion of the casting decision.

screenshot-www.imdb.com 2014-12-03 22-22-49 (1)

Cara Delevingne as Enchantress

screenshot-www.imdb.com 2014-12-03 22-28-49

So Enchantress is the 2nd major female character casted for the film which makes me super excited. As a female comic/ comic book movie film fan I love when female characters make it to the big screen. With the upcoming avengers movies, captain marvel, wonderwoman, fantastic four reboot and now suicide squad I feel like there are women heroes/villains coming at me from every direction & I LOVE IT! So anyway about Enchantress, she is a powerful yet unstable hero/villain depending on the issue. June Moone the Enchantress’s true identity is kind hearted however when she loses control she gets possessed by the enchantress who is a true villain. Along with her membership in the suicide squad she has also been a part of the justice league dark, the forgotten villains, Sentinels of magic, & shadowpact. She first appeared in Strange Adventures #187 in 1966.

Cara Delevingne is another cast member I had to look up, unfortunately unlike Jai Courtney I did not recognize her from her filmography. I have not seen anything she has been in nor have I heard anything about her acting skills. This is probably the casting choice I have the least opinion on mainly because I don’t know what she can do.

I have saved the best for last. This is the casting news I was most excited about for various reasons 1) I love Harley Quinn & I am so excited that she will be portrayed in the film 2) I think the casting is spot on.

Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn

Harley Quinn is probably one of my favourite villains (next to the joker of course), she has never been portrayed in live action film. Harley is a relatively new character (1994) when compared to other high profile villains such as the joker (1940) but has gained a lot of popularity, particularly in the last few years. Her origin was told in the 1994 graphic novel Mad Love (which is probably one of my favourite graphic novels). She was a psychiatrist at Arkham asylum where she met and fell in love with the Joker.  The chick is CRAZY like full out looney which is probably why I love the character so much. The sight of a badly beaten Joker drove her insane which lead to her quitting her job and donning a jester costume and becoming the joker’s sidekick.

I have seen Margot in one movie (wolf on wallstreet) however that one movie was enough. Her portrayal of that character is spot on for Harley Quinn. Not just that but physically she is PERFECT for the role.  Her acting is incredible and she definitely has the presence to pull off Harley.

I really suggest you click here to read a post by Girloncomicbookworld about the Harley Quinn casting she sums it up perfectly.

Fotor120323195

So here is my ranking for how I think WB did with their casting

WILL SMITH — EXCITED(but like I said I’m Biased)

TOM HARDY– LOVE IT

JARED LETO–Could work

MARGOT ROBBIE-GENIUS!

JAI COURTNEY–Could Work

CARA DELEVINGNE–No Opinion

What really sucks is I have to wait a year and a half for the movie which is the DC film I am most excited for and it ranks in my top 5 most anticipated superhero movies for the next 6 years. Let me know what you think of the casting or the upcoming film would love to hear other opinons.

One thought on “Suicide Squad News”

Leave a Reply

